I’ve Found Peace in the Voice of the Beggar

by mkleit

Hamra street made me learn a valuable lesson tonight… I was walking around, trying to find my way back home from the street corner of Fransabank, taking the van 4 back. But strangely and unusually there was something different at that time, there was a very awkward yet beautiful voice. An old man was sitting on the side walk in front of Montreal center, he was a beggar.

I was crossing the road from the front of Simply Red cafe towards the other side of the road, holding concern and burden over my shoulders and in my heart, where I was driven by a serenading voice. I saw an old man, wrinkles all over his face, grayish white hair, slightly visible beard, broken teeth, tan skin, and small weak figure. The usual scene of an old beggar in Hamra street, yet that was not the deal this time.
We got used for seeing beggars with talent in movies and sometimes in our daily lives, some old dude with a musical instrument, chanting for the passing by audience, subliminally asking for a token of gratitude, or in other words: money so he could survive the day without hunger.
The voice that dragged me towards that man was thought to be a chant, a song that he made up or performing for some famous singer, but no. It was the first time I see a beggar reciting the Qur’an with perfect voice, tonality, and no phonetic errors.

I stood a few meters away from him, just listening. I tried to take a photo of him, but he just hid his face from the camera’s lens, gesturing: Please let me be!
I respected that action, thus I just sat near him and listened.
The thing is, I have read the Qur’an and still read it, I’ve heard it millions of times before. but when it came from that man, I’ve listened to it, I recognized the meaning of the verses, I understood Allah’s message from the voice of that man when he went from a high pitched voice to a low one, as if he has been studying sound performance for many years or has been reciting holy verses at mosque since birth.

Ever felt magic racing inside yew and simply taking yew away from one unwanted place to a sanctuary, where yew sense freedom and comfort? I was there in the few minutes I’ve lived beside that man. It was another type of meditation, better than drinking the usual cup of tea in the early morning or enjoying the success of a diploma, this was spiritual not physical. I forgot what was troubling me for a long while, and I’m willing to go back the days coming, hoping to see him again, to live that experience again and again.

I’ve found peace in the voice of the beggar.

2 Comments to “I’ve Found Peace in the Voice of the Beggar”

  1. That just Reminded me of something very similar happend to me. not similar in the physical sense, but in the emotional spiritual sense. That night; when I was dreaming and some old man came to me, shaking his head and pointing his finger at me, saying “و لسوف يعطيك ربك فترضى” … He kept repeating that verse again and again and again and I was shocked! why would he pick this verse of the Quran to recite it in front of me knowing that I’m the biggest believer of this verse and it’s even my a part of my favorite Sura! I’ve got terrified and woke up. after few seconds, the Shaikh of the Near Masjid started reading Surat Al Doha for the Fajer Prayer! I can’t describe that feeling. Although, I’ve been overwhelmed with all these contradicting feelings, but I couldn’t not smile.. it was very peaceful at the end, I felt that God is assuring me again that he will give me whatever I want and need,
    “و لسوف يعطيك ربك فترضى” 🙂 ….

  2. 7amdellah w katter 5er allah 3ala kel shi ..

Freedom to Speak, Respectfully.

